Libraries

Search the catalogue

New Books

Teen Fiction

JuneTMonstersMonsters

by Sharon Dogar

1814: Mary Godwin, the sixteen-year-old daughter of radical socialist and feminist writers, runs away with a dangerously charming young poet - Percy Bysshe Shelley. From there, the two young lovers travel a Europe in the throes of revolutionary change, through high and low society, tragedy and passion, where they will be drawn into the orbit of the mad and bad Lord Byron. But Mary and Percy are not alone: they bring Jane, Mary's young step-sister. And she knows the biggest secrets of them all . . . 

 

  

Honor bound ( Honors # 2)
JuneTHonor bound

by Rachel Caine

Savvy criminal turned skilled Leviathan pilot Zara Cole finds new friends and clashes with bitter enemies in the second book of this action-packed series from New York Times bestselling authors Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre that's perfect for fans of The 100 and The Fifth Wave. Zara Cole was a thief back on Earth, but she's been recently upgraded to intergalactic fugitive. On the run after a bloody battle in a covert war that she never expected to be fighting, Zara, her co-pilot Beatriz, and their Leviathan ship Nadim barely escaped the carnage with their lives. Now Zara and her crew of Honors need a safe haven, far from the creatures who want to annihilate them. But they'll have to settle for the Sliver: a wild, dangerous warren of alien criminals.     

 

JuneTboystealshousesThe boy who steals houses

by C.G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story. Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie.  

 

Lumberjanes. The infernal compass
JuneTlumberjanes

by Lilah Sturges

When the Janes start to become separated during an orienteering outing thanks to a mysterious compass, Molly becomes more and more insecure about the effect of her relationship with Mal on the other girls. Meanwhile, a lonely woman explorer is trying to steal the compass, with the help of some weirdly polite automaton butlers.

 

 

 

Teen Non-Fiction

JuneTNFLearning

Learning how to learn : how to succeed in school without spending all your time studying

by Barbara A. Oakley

A surprisingly simple way for students to master any subject, based on one of the world's most popular online courses... We all have the tools to learn what might not seem to come naturally to us at first--the secret is to understand how the brain works so we can unlock its power. This book explains: * Why sometimes letting your mind wander is an important part of the learning process * How to avoid 'rut think' in order to think outside the box * Why having a poor memory can be a good thing * The value of metaphors in developing understanding * A simple, yet powerful, way to stop procrastinating. Filled with illustrations, application questions, and exercises,                                        this book makes learning easy and fun"

 

Updated 10/06/2019